Anglia Ruskin University

  • Anglia Ruskin (ARU) is a tri-campus university with locations in Cambridge, Peterborough and Chelmsford
  • The university was founded in 1858, when the art critic John Ruskin opened the Cambridge School of Art. The school became Anglia Polytechnic after it joined with the Cambridgeshire College of Arts and Technology and the Essex Institute of Higher Education. It became a full university in 1992 and was renamed Anglia Ruskin in 2005
  • The university has around 35,000 students from 177 different countries
  • The university offers 240 undergraduate courses across five faculties: science and technology; health, social care and education; arts, law and social sciences; medical science; and Lord Ashcroft International Business School
  • In 2014 ARU was named the UK Entrepreneurial University of the Year at the Times Higher Education (THE) Awards 2014
  • University Centre Peterborough, University Centre Harlow and the College of West Anglia are regional college partners also offer courses validated by ARU
  • ARU’s research has been recognised by the UK’s Higher Education funding bodies, with 12 areas classed as generating 'world-leading' research (REF, 2014)
  • The university is in the top 20% in the country for student satisfaction on business studies (NSS 2014)
  • ARU has invested £122 million in their campuses over the last 5 years, money was used on such things as medical simulation suites, TV and film studios, forensic science labs, a purpose-built music centre, full-size professional theatre, and mock hospital wards.
Visit the Anglia Ruskin University website for admissions and more information.